Some people think that universities should provide graduates with knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer.

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are concerned about the purpose of college. However, whether the university should teach more job skills in Morden life is a controversial issue. I agree with the view that the college’s major duty is providing academic knowledge rather than useful skills in the workplace. First, it is clear that it is theoretical knowledge that is the base of practical one. This means that the university’s curriculum should give a lot of theoretical knowledge to their students, which could motivate their self-thinking and be used in the working place in future. So it is necessary to nurture the younger’s thinking model instead of direct imparting job skills. Moreover, the abilities of career are always updated quickly, which means not only could not collages timely provide new points but also the ability which freshmen studied in the first year is useless after 4 years when they graduate and get a career. For example, my group used to study the business model of UBER, which we believed is the future trend. But it exited the Chinese market when we graduated. On the other hand, that is not to say that universities should not pay any attention to an employee's abilities. Of course, plenty of students will be going to the work market and will use their practical ability to make great contributions to our society. Don't be in a hurry, they still can learn those abilities in the workplace. Finally, the major function of college should be affording students with scientific research. Meanwhile, we should not ignore the other important roles universities are undertaking. Only by doing so can the university maintain dynamic and sustainable development.