In certain countries, the number of people who use bicycles as the main means of transport is decreasing even though it is beneficial both physically and environmentally. What can be the reasons for this change in preference? How can people be encouraged to use bicycles? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There have been significant advantages of using bicycles for both environments as well as health but still, there has been a downward trend of people using it as a preferred means of commutation. In my opinion, one reason is the time required to reach a destination using it and the other is safety concerns. In this essay, we are going to discuss some issues and possible solutions. Firstly, riding a bicycle takes a much longer time compared to using other available means of transport such as a bus, train or car. While the public has limited time, bicycles make them much slower to reach a destination therefore they choose more convenient and faster ways of transportation. However, there can be ways to deal with it such as using e-bikes, which are not only faster but also consume less effort if travelling long distances. For instance, Google offices use e-bikes to travel from one place to another within the campus, encouraging them to start using bicycles for health and environmental benefits. Hence it is important that the system should back everyone from using it. Secondly, riding a bike on a street can be dangerous and the number of accidents has increased in the past few years including fatal ones. Even though bike riding is good for health and nature, it can be dangerous from a personal safety point of view and one should learn all rules before riding on a road. In a recent survey, it is found that a lot of new riders met road accidents. Nonetheless, these can be avoided, if people start following some safety rules such as wearing helmets, and guards, and riding on the suggested tracks instead of a busy road. That's how society will feel safer when riding a bike. In conclusion, although people are ignoring the benefits of using a bicycle, it can be fun, economical and environmentally friendly if supported by everyone. Additionally, they should be encouraged to take up lessons which will enable them to rely on this means of transport.