Many people go through life doing work that they hate or have no talent for. Why does this happen? What are the consequences of this situation?

It is rightly believed that life doesn't always steer in the direction of our choice and oftentimes this impacts our occupational lives. Consequently, people are compelled to pursue professions that they are not primed for. While there can be academic, financial and personal reasons for the above, being involved in jobs that neither please nor satisfy could have negative consequences on an individual's mental and professional well-being. This essay aims to explore the briefly mentioned reasons and results above of engaging in work that individuals hate or have no talent for. To begin with, there are many causes that can render a person helpless enough to take up personally dissatisfying job opportunities in their life. These can include having under-qualifying academic records, insufficient funding or even familial situations. For instance, to be able to pursue cardiology, a candidate must exhibit excellent performance in the required entrance examinations, failure to do so could earn them a placement in a field that they least prefer. Additionally, in a world that is becoming increasingly expensive to subsist in, the costs of funding studies leading up to certain professions are exorbitant. This coupled with someone's incapacity to fulfil those monetary demands can compel them to instead seek employment in an area that is more affordable, albeit disliked. Lastly, circumstances within the family also determine a person's future. For example, many reality TV shows feature testaments by people who had no choice but to relinquish their aspirations and work as labourers in their countries to fulfil the basic needs of their close ones. That being said, although some people can power through the disappointing phase of doing jobs they don't like, many succumb to its gloomy aftermath. Having a displeasing job can trigger constant dissatisfaction with one's professional life, instilling a pessimistic outlook on life in the individual. Naturally, such a persistent gloom-ridden mentality would not augur well for the person in terms of mental health, inviting problematic conditions such as depression or in the worst cases, suicide. This has been supported by many reports that have cited frustration associated with being involved in a dissatisfactory job as one of the main reasons for the increasing number of suicides across the globe. On the occupational front, those unhappy and unsettled in their current professions would not be able to fare well in those fields either, due to the lack of genuine interest and a brewing defeatist mentality. In conclusion, many people end up settling for jobs outside their area of interest for personal and professional reasons like family burdens and studies, which in turn could leave them beset with mental health problems and a struggling status within their current jobs.