More students are deciding to study science-related subjects at university rather than more traditional subjects. What are the causes of this? What affects will it have on society?

More students are choosing to study science -related subjects at university as opposed to traditional subjects. This essay will discuss the reasons why students are attracted to taking up science -related subjects and their effects on society. An increasing number of students desire to study science -related subjects as it provides better job opportunities. This will result in an increase of talent in the science and technology sector and fuel the development of innovative products. Students who study science and technology -related subjects are considered ‘highly-skilled’ talent and have a higher chance of being successful in their careers. Companies attract and retain these highly skilled, talented students by paying high salaries and other benefits. A recent survey conducted by the federal human resources ministry shows engineering graduates are paid 4x more early in their career than a traditional graduate who has completed his degree in social science. For example, Facebook, Google and Amazon pay 200 K USD to entry-level technology graduates instead of the average income of 50 K USD to entry-level graduates. This surge of students studying science and technology will increase this sector's talent pool and positively impact various parts of our society in the coming years. The application of science and technology doubles the rate of innovation we apply daily, which will lead to more productivity and advancements across all sectors and industries. For example, with the development and use of generative AI technologies like Chat GPT, many mundane organizational tasks can be conducted by software instead of human resources. In conclusion, students are attracted to studying science and technology in universities due to the wide range of high-remuneration job options available to them compared to the job availability if they study traditional subjects. This will positively impact the upcoming generation of the talent pool in the technology sector, leading to the development and availability of innovative products to ordinary people.