It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Children need to acquire a cognitive skill which allows them to distinguish the bad from the good while they are young. Some insist that penalties can help children gain this skill quickly. In my opinion, physical punishments should be avoided but other methods such as time outs are effective and parents and teachers should be allowed to use them. Firstly, the ways to raise children have changed over the past few decades. Physical punishments used to be often seen at home and school. However, since the law tightened the restrictions on punishments, the rate of corporal punishments have reduced and there are alternatives created by psychologists and researchers. One well-known method to teach young children, whose age is between two and eight, proper manners is called time out. This is recommended by most pediatricians as a way to curb negative behaviours ranging from talking back to aggressive acts. This method is totally different from corporal punishments. Secondly, corporal punishments tend to leave children with mental or physical trauma, whereas time outs are not harmful but effective. When children get aggressive and do not stop after warning, leave them alone for a few minutes, which makes them calm down and think their tantrum does not solve the situation. The clear reason for this punishment and infrequency are required but this method can be utilized to prevent parents from giving emotional verbal or physical attacks. To conclude, distinction between the bad and good is an essential skill for children at an early stage and I believe that time outs are beneficial to gain this skill.