Some people says it is impossible to live in big cities. What measure can be taken to solve this problem

Big cities concentrate a large proportion of the global population currently. However, these areas also exhibit multiple environmental and transport challenges, which lead many of their inhabitants to think that cities are not good places to live. In this essay, I will discuss how improving the transport systems and air conditions would lead to higher well-being quality in urban areas. Firstly, large traffic jumps are a common problem in big urban zones due to the high number of vehicles that cross their streets and highways every day. The inefficient urban transport systems are the main reasons behind this issue, which lead to a large number of people getting a car. It is important to highlight that longer journeys represent that society spends more time in a car instead with their family or friends. Thus, the development of new transport systems that include trains, buses, and bicycles could reduce the use of personal vehicles reducing traffic jumps and enhancing the life condition of the population. Secondly, automobile emissions negatively impact the air quality of principal capitals around the world. High air pollution concentrations represent a determinant factor for human health issues, mainly among young and old adults. Thus, people more frequently analyze the air conditions of urban zones previous to taking the decision to buy a new house or apartment. In this sense, several studies have highlighted that fossil fuels represent the most important factor that increases the concentrations of pollutants such as ozone. For this reason, local administrations can take decisions to encourage their population to use massively public transport and bicycles. Further, governments also can decrease electric car taxes to accelerate the transition from fossil fuels to renewable energies, which have minimum pollutants emissions. In summary, despite the multiple issues that big cities are facing nowadays, if local administrations take measures like developing new transport systems and improving air quality, it would result in better well-being for millions of inhabitants.