It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What short of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is a known fact that the human brain is capable of developing to its fullest extent during childhood age. Interestingly, it is at this time, children try to observe a lot of things and preserve this knowledge subconsciously in their brains. Therefore, it is important for adults to teach them rights and wrongs at this age but few people resort to punishments to make them learn this distinction. In this essay, I will be discussing the long-term impacts of relying on physical punishments on a child's life and emphasize what adults can instead do to guide their kids on the right path. With physical punishments, the young generation can become quite rebellious and traumatized. Such acts not only affect their approach towards life but also permanently damage their relationships with their close-knit people. For instance, many kids develop hatred towards their parents when they are beaten for wrongdoings. Furthermore, such youth assume that physical pain is the effect of any mistakes they make in life and rely on it to feel less guilty. This permanently damages their lifestyle and career as well. Instead of doing such harmful acts, parents and teachers should use softer approaches to make children understand the difference. Consider a kid misbehaving at school with another kid, such kids can be enrolled on an awareness program where they learn the consequences of their actions. Additionally, such students can even be asked to stay back at school for providing extra help to teachers during after-hours. Parents should also take up the responsibility to guide their loved ones on the right path by sharing their own life experiences and their daily actions. This, in itself, inculcates more interest subconsciously in children to take correct decisions in future. In conclusion, I believe that children are quite quick at learning and picking from their surroundings, be they good or bad. Therefore, it is parents ' and teachers' responsibility to spread awareness through passive learning than chastising innocent souls at a young age.