Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime , and the motivation for commiting it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Many people hold the view that punishments on offenders need to be fixed, while others think the judgement should take into account the complex backgrounds on which a criminal act happens. Personally, I believe that a reasonable punishment ought to consider the varied context and individules' motive. On the one hand, in some people's views, it is fixed punishments that can present the fairness of laws. If judgements vary according to different motivations, many people probably have a large number of explainations, which are favourable for themselves, about their law-breaking behaviours. Meanwhile, motivation happends in these offender's inner world and is not visible, which may lead to problematic punishments if the lawbreakers and their lawyers contend that they are not intend to commit such crimes or the offenders do it for a worth understanding purpose. On the other hand, other people may argue that fixed sentences ruin the lives of people who are not deliberately commit the mistakes. Undisputedly, many individuals kill or hurt other people because they have no others ways but have to self-defense. Domestic violence is a good example. Some husbands have a long history of assualting their wives even in a cruel way, but their neighbors may not know when things happens and could not offer any help. Under this situation, the wife may kill her husband for protecting herself from being seriously hurted, which should be understood rather than impose a harsh punishment on her. In conclusion, a convincing judgement can fully consider the context in which of a behaviour happens, although fixed punishments may reflect the fairness of the justice system.