Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, educational specialists have different views about whether foreign languages courses should be provided to children at primary schools. Although multiple disadvantages may come with them before secondary school, I completely believe that their advantages outweigh negatives. On the one hand, there are three main factors to blame for the early alternative language courses at primary schools. Firstly, they would dilute children’s time and effort to study other subjects, for instance, science, which is regarded as the most crucial discipline for a country’s long-term development. Secondly, they may be too tough for those children, and this experience may harm their self-esteem. Lastly, this may further spoil pupils’ sense of nationality and mother tongues. It can therefore be argued that they may not be necessary at this stage for some reasons. On the other hand, I strongly believe their advantages have bigger impacts on students under 13. According to a recent research published in Nature, the earlier a student starts to learn a new language, the easier he or she would do. This is owing to the reason that when we grow older, the neuros in our brain may develop slower, which means it is harder for elders to remember new stuffs. Take an example of myself, I begun to learn Japanese at the age of 30 and I found it was harder than English, which I tried to study at the age of 10. Instead of offering them since middle school, it is better to introduce them in primary schools. In conclusion, even though people have different views about whether we should teach the students another language at primary schools, I definitely believe it would be a necessary evil for those young learners.