Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Increasing traffic and pollution is a major concern all over the world, Hiking the price of petrol is the best step to solve traffic and pollution -related issues. I do not agree with this statement, It is not an ideal step to solve this issue. Other effective measures can be implemented such as encouraging citizens to use public transport as well as increasing awareness of the environment. To commence with, surging the prices of fuel is not the best way to handle pollution and traffic problems. The livelihood of some people are depend on selling fuel. Moreover, increased prices will affect the economy as well. Government should introduce some key measures to control pollution and traffic. Starting from public transportation, the government should bring effective and low-cost public transport such as buses and metros. For instance, the significance of Metro trains in my city has helped a lot of citizens to get rid of stuck in traffic for hours as well as it is fast enough to reach their destination. Thus, public transport offers positive points which are beneficial for society and the environment also. Secondly, the authority should encourage citizens for electric vehicles. For example, rental bikes should be introduced for short travelling as well as giving subsidies to owners of electric vehicles. Moreover, the authority should ban more aged vehicles that are 15 or more than 15 years old. These over-aged vehicles are the main cause of pollution. Hence, pollution can be reduced by implementing these norms. To conclude, I consider there is no Sunnyside of increase in fuel prices to overcome traffic and pollution, implementing other measures like more use of public transportation and electric vehicles are an ideal option.