TOPIC: More and more people in developing countries are purchasing cars for the first time. What problems does this cause? What do you think is a possible solution?

In developing nations, there has been a huge increase in the number of private vehicles sold to first-time buyers. The principal problems this causes are pollution and traffic congestion, and the most viable solution is to impose higher taxes on cars. The primary issue developing countries face when their citizens start to buy cars is increased pollution. This occurs as a result of exhaust fume from a tremendous number of cars which still run on fossil fuels while electric cars are still in the pipeline. The greater number of vehicles on the road is also responsible for a rise in traffic jams. This is because the infrastructure in developing countries is not fully developed in keeping with the dramatic increases in cars on the street. For example, citizens in Vietnam can hardly move an inch during rush hour when the narrow streets are clogged with hundreds of cars and motorcycles. A solution to these problems is to make first-time purchasers pay extra money for their cars. This would solve the problems by making the purchase of a car the low priority for most people as they would be hindered by the quite prohibitive price of cars. As a result, they would turn to other modes of public transportation such as trains or buses, leading to a dramatic decrease in the number of automobiles on the street. For example, the price of a car in Vietnam is nearly double that in other countries due to heavy taxes, making the possession of a car in Vietnam a luxury to most people. In conclusion, the increasing number of cars sold to first-time buyers leads to air pollution and traffic jams, but these problems could be effectively tackled by adding more duty to cars.