In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

It is true that in some parts of our world, according to their cultural beliefs, people often tell their children that, if they are diligent enough, nothing is impossible and everything they want can be available. However, just as every coin has two sides, disseminating this kind of information has both merits and demerits in my opinion. On the one hand, this notion definitely could make effort to educational achievement, cognitive development of children and social atmosphere. First of all, children have no doubt about their own abilities, especially intelligence capabilities. For example, they won‘t judge themselves as „stupider“, when they have worse scores compared with others. Instead, they would consider whether the time and energy they invested are not enough. In that way, they may be studious and thus a refinement in the study could be expected. Secondly, with regard to the cognitive level they would be sure that they have indefinite possibilities, which is one of the essential components of self-esteem. Furthermore, to some extent, it makes a contribution to building up a society with fair and free value, as the only prerequisite to be successful is to work hard, rather than pedigree, social status and so forth. On the other hand, children could feel anxious due to the worry of being left behind, when they are merged in this value. They could constantly compare themselves with other kids in order to assure themselves that they are hard-working enough. As a result, they may push themselves too hard and don’t allow themselves to even have a rest. When this kind of emotion continues to be accumulated, it could lead to mental problems like depression. And the social surrounding will be filled with comparison and competition as well, thus this could lead to a negative circle and have a profound impact. In conclusion, the concept of hard-working should be advocated because of the advantages they bring to children in many aspects. However, the negative side effects should not be trivialized, otherwise, it could be counterproductive.