Nowadays, as a part of education process, students work at a company for a short period of time without pay. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In the modern world education curriculum, students are required to work at an organization for a short duration without remuneration. These programs are generally called 'Internship'. This essay will discuss the facts that despite the short-term negative perception students develop about the corporate job environment, the practical knowledge they gain is critical to developing a solid foundation for their future professional career means that the advantages far outweigh the disadvantages. One the benefit of internship programs is that the students gain exposure to the corporate culture and add valuable hands-on experience by working along with tenured colleagues from those companies. For example, companies like Facebook take them to do research projects as assistants to their current employees and offer them full-time jobs for their performance criteria. Moreover, it helps build a solid foundation and sometimes helps them land full-time job offer from the same company based on their performance. Therefore, I believe the advantages of doing an internship program while studying sets up them for success in future. On the other hand, these short-term work stint exposes students to not so good side of corporate culture which may negatively impact their perception with regard to working culture in the companies. For example, recent research conducted at the University of Toronto indicated that 60% of students found the working environment to be toxic and demotivating. I strongly believe this disadvantage is a short- term in nature and fades away as they start working full-time. In conclusion, while the benefits of interning help develop a strong base and gain the required knowledge for long-term success, the drawbacks are that in some cases they may undergo a short period of a negative perception of the corporate industry environment.