Lack of fresh water is becoming a global issue of increasing importance. what problems does this shortage case? what measures could be taken to overcome these problems?

Nowadays, the topic of lacking fresh water over the world has aroused more and more attention from people and has been highly discussed. It can result in various problems. Therefore, correspondent measures must be taken in order to cope with them. The shortage of fresh water can lead to a host of problems. First of all, agriculture around the world could be the first victim. The limited freshwater must first meet domestic needs, thus less water could be used in planting crops, vegetables etc., which could cause hunger later on. Secondly, it gives additional but urgent stress on the development of technology. The contaminants in wasted water must be removed through technological methods such as filtering, and chemical purifying, and huge investments from governments are unavoidable. Furthermore, those relatively less developed countries neither have those technologies nor the money, therefore, they have no choice but to suffer from polluted water, which could lead to all kinds of health problems as well. However, the future could still be bright and the situation is not irreversible, if actions could be taken immediately. On the one hand, everyone should be conscious of the necessity of environmental protection. What we as individuals can do is, for example, turn off the water tap as soon as we finished washing. Don't let water and our brilliant future flow away. On the other hand, governments should be responsible for modifying the current laws and setting strict standards. As a majority of companies focused mainly on their profits, it is almost unrealistic to require them to be eco-friendly spontaneously. However, when the governments subsidize the companies that save water during their manufacture and punish those discarding a huge amount of wasted water, the problems could be at least partly mitigated. In conclusion, the lack of fresh water and an ensuing series of problems should not be trivialized. But I do believe when the government and every single person make their efforts from now on, the situation will not be worse and refinements can be expected in the near future.