Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Nowadays, globalization progress is happening very strongly and gradually become an inevitable trend for world development. Therefore, anybody who knows more than one language, especially English processes a competitive advantage in all fields from communication, to study to work. That is why some researchers suppose that it would be better for students to learn an overseas tongue from primary school instead of just starting at middle school. Starting to learn a foreign language earlier can cause children to encounter some difficulties, such as sometimes children will be confused between their native language and foreign language because this is also the process when children are starting to learn about their mother language. However, beginning to learn an overseas language at primary school rather than secondary school has advantages that outweigh the disadvantages. Firstly, it helps children absorb foreign languages more naturally. When children are kids, they will naturally acquire foreign languages in the sequence of listening – speaking – reading – and writing instead of passively learning like when they are adults. Just like they learning their mother tongue, they are exposed to that language the easier a new language similar to the mother tongue. Secondly, it helps children be more intelligent, and more developed in all other areas. Because they will translate one language into another which increases the flexibility of the nervous system. Thirdly, it helps students listen – speaking correctly right from the beginning thanks to the ability to miraculously imitate words and intonation. In conclusion, looking at the great benefits above, we can conclude that learning a foreign language should start as early as possible.