Fewer citizens go to their local museums and galleries than ever before. What are the causes of this? What can be done about this?

Nowadays the number of citizens who intended to go to local museums and galleries are decreasing. There are two main reasons why this could happen which I will discuss below as well as the solutions regarding this issue. One of the first problems of the lesser people going to the buildings were due to the motivation. Publics particularly the young generation is now less passionate and motivated in learning history. For instance in Indonesia, students usually perceived that history-related lessons are not interesting which led to their lack curiosity about historical things including museums and galleries. The second reason, it seems that it is due to the perception of the less importance of arts or history in nowdays-life. Some young generations are more concerned in future-beneficial subjects such as business and technology. Another problem that needs to be considered, there is a view that historical things and arts had been provided through Internet. In other words, those who have the internet can access historical subjects without visiting directly to galleries or museums. Although the motivation to go to that places was more declined, there are several possible solutions to this problem. First, visiting historical places and art shows could be made a school programme, which thus could encourage the young generation to be more aware of that. Secondly, an improvement of museums and galleries which include modern stuff such as infiltrating video games related to museum’ stuff would be more interesting to the youngsters. In summary, there are several causes affecting a fewer publics’ intention starting from lack of interest in studying history and arts, the perceived less importance of the subjects to the technological issues. However, this issue could be done by promoting them in the school system and creating more modern technology in the building and arcade.