Many people believe that music is just a form of entertainment, whilst others believe that music has a much larger impact on society today. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. (250 words).

While singing can be perceived as a mere means of entertainment by some individuals, it can also play a significant role in the community nowadays according to others. To begin with, music is an undeniable practice of distraction and entertainment not only for kids but also for younger, adults and senior citizens. For example, kids at kinder-garden enjoy and learn by listening and singing songs during class and on break time, retirement homes also play melodies to their elderly guests in moments of recreation and younger and middle-aged populations utilize it as a means of releasing stress and escaping from the daily routine by attending concerts and dancing clubs or simply by gathering to play and listening to it. Thus it can strongly be considered a form of leisure and enjoyable pastime for most of us. On the other hand, some other people consider that music not only serves the simple purpose of entertainment but also influences some other aspects of our community, such as culture, identification and social interaction. For example, national or racial traditions can be passed on from generation to generation which consequently creates and reinforce the identity of a country or a culture. Another important role that it plays is the fact that it also connects and brings people together which improves social relations and interactions in a civilization. Therefore in my opinion it is also a system of unifying and reinforcing the identity of a nation. To sum up, the importance of music in our community is not only limited to entertaining populations of different ages and backgrounds but it also places significant importance on the development of social relations and the preservation of the culture and the character of civilization.