Today children and adults from many countries play video games. Some people believe playing video games is harmful. To what extent do you agree with this opinion?

Nowadays, there is an increase in the overall percentage population of people who play video games and many have shared their various opinions on whether it is a harmful practice or not; some believe the routine is unsafe while others share a contrary view. I have played video games for many years and completely believe it is an unharmful exercise and will give detailed reasons for this stand that I have taken as the essay progresses. Firstly, playing video games is a recreational activity which has helped many like me overcome feelings of depression during our low moments. This is because the characters in each scene appear so natural and captivating that one gets easily engrossed with the interactions as unto a human. Although the fear of addiction is a common concern that people express which my parents also had when I started developing an interest in it as a teenager, this concern can easily be conquered if parents take up the responsibility of teaching their young ones early in life, how to set healthy boundaries in every aspect of their existence; my parents did a good job in that regard and it helped me deal with their own fear as I am not addicted to it. Secondly, video sports have a way of teaching every player some skills at no cost, such as self-defence, speed and accuracy, the ability to think outside the box and so many others which may not be literally thought in a school. However, some argue that there is a greater tendency of developing some eye defects due to constant exposure to the screen; while I try to understand their fear, I will also not fail to mention that anyone who had been made to understand moderation earlier in life will know how to limit his or her screen time for eye safety and also make conscious efforts at wearing protective lens in order to overcome this challenge. To conclude, I believe that playing video games is not harmful, rather it impacts lives positively by equipping people with skills that help them succeed in the natural world and also serve as a tool in dealing with both emotional and physical stress in order to overcome depression. The benefits listed in this essay outweigh to a great extent, whatever demerits are associated with it,especially with a good parenting support system.