Professional workers like doctors, nurses and teachers make a greater contribution to society and so should be paid more than sports and entertainment personalities.What extent do you agree or disagree?

Opinion essay According to some people, footballers and athletes are overpaid. Their wages are significantly higher than those of doctors, nurses and teachers. A similar argument is often made for other entertainment personalities. Personally, I disagree with this opinion and I want to explain the reason why in this essay. First of all, it is important to explain their point of view. Their opinion is based on the evidence that the contribution to society of doctors is more important than that of sports stars. The common idea is that their task is to save lives.  Yet, a doctor earns a small portion of what an athlete does. As a consequence, the payment of medical workers should increase while entertainment personalities should get paid far less than they are getting paid right now. In contrast, it is important to know that wages are not in order to state the level of impact of that job position. In fact, the amount of money we are getting for our work is determined thanks to economic models. Moreover, the entertainment industry collects a huge amount of revenue thanks to television shares. The number of people that are connected to this market is bigger than it may appear at a first glance. Therefore, it is normal that a football champion is far richer than a nurse. They are not getting paid for playing a match, whereas, the huge wage is due to the contribution to the whole market. To sum up, doctors are very important but the fact that they save lives doesn't mean that they need to be paid more than those who score goals.