An increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. Why is this the case, and what solutions are possible?

It is widely acknowledged that an enormous increase in the manufacture of consumer goods, associated with the recent prevalence of consumerism, leads to detrimental impacts on the natural environment. There are several reasons that can be outlined, and there are some possible solutions that can also be implemented to tackle this serious problem. The overproduction of consumer goods poses threats to the environment in two ways: creating pollutants and destroying natural habitats. First of all, the process of manufacturing releases different types of substances that contaminate the air, water and soil. Furthermore, the factories sometimes neglect their responsibilities to protect the exhaustible natural resources by not applying proper methods to treat the sewage before discharging it into the environment. For example, in the 2010s, Vietnam witnessed a big wave of public protests against Vedan company disposing of untreated wastewater into Thi Vai River. Secondly, higher demands for consumerism give rise to the construction of many factories and industrial zones. As a result, trees are cut down and forests are cleared away to make room for new manufacturing facilities, which leads to a great loss of animals’ wildlife and the possible extinction of endangered species. To prevent these consequences, we should take into consideration several measures to limit excessive consumption and introduce regulations to control the current situation. In terms of reducing the number of consumer products, each individual can join hands to change their mindset and lifestyle. Instead of adopting “fast consumerism”, we should now shift our priority to much more sustainable products which are made from eco-friendly materials and can be utilized for a longer period. Recently, more and more young people have demonstrated strong care for the environment by promoting “Minimalism”, in which the motto is “Less is more” to avoid spending on unnecessary items. On a larger scale, intervention from governments is also indispensable. Policymakers should reinforce the law to strictly control the manufacture and impose severe punishments on entities that fail to fulfil their commitment to protecting mutual living areas. In conclusion, consumption can be attributed to environmental damage and minor changes within individuals and organizations can make incredible progress in addressing this problem.