In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies . Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this .

It is claimed that in some nations, working or traveling for a year before pursuing university studies after completing their high school studies. However, this trend has various benefits as well as drawbacks. On the one hand, it is recognizable that there are some advantages when young people have a year to enjoy their life and experience working environment. One of the foremost benefits is that young students may gain practical experience which do not exist in school environments. As a result, they will have problem-solving skills that are considered vital for further study career. Another beneficial impact would be that when scholars work or travel, they have many opportunities to exchange with individuals from many walks of life and deal with a variety of life situations, which leads students to overcome the challenges they would face once they beginning working. On the other hand, this decision also has certain disadvantages. First of all, it is quite hard for young people to return to their academic pursuits. Because when they go to work to earn money, they will want to give up their college education to concentrate a higher level of expertise on that job and earn more money. Secondly, if they do not know how to take advantage of that year, it will be a waste of time when their peers could have finished a year of it. In fact, it is difficult to get a stable occupation or develop a successful career without having a good degree in education. In conclusion, although working or traveling for a year before attending university has potential advantages, this selection brings mentioned unbeneficial.