Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be usefulin the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that students in further learning should have the freedom to pursue their passion through education, while others think that the future importance of the topic should decide whether they could study it or not. Although I believe allowing most of them to follow their dreams will make them happier members of our society, it is also reasonable for the government to expect universities to produce a minimum number of students in each sector. On one hand, humans are made to follow their hearts as a way of achieving happiness or expressing themselves, for example as musicians do. Additionally, it is common knowledge today that people who are naturally gifted in topics like music and art are to some extent challenged when it comes to academic subjects such as mathematics. Therefore, in my,opinion they should be allowed to choose these topics so they can become music or art teachers later in life. However, there are other traditional subjects that can be relevant in the future, for,example sociology and history. On the other hand, the world is developing quite fast and we are at the beginning of a technological era. Therefore it is understandable that our society needs more workforce in the essential sectors, for,example teachers, health workers, IT and researchers which all require a fair amount of academic knowledge. So, instead of leaving everything to the imagination of young people, as a fair exchange for secure financial support the government can in return trust that most universities are capable of educating enough qualified people to meet the demand of the future. In my own experience, I was not exceptionally good in science-related subjects in high school, but I managed to become a pharmacist so I can contribute to developing advanced delivery routes in the future. In conclusion, happy communities are those whose members are satisfied with what they do for a living. Personally, I believe the learning institutes and government can cooperate with the younger generations in order to do both academic and non-academic subjects equally interesting and embrace diversity.