In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

It is true that due to breakthroughs in medicine, people now are expected to live longer; however, this can generate bad consequences for society as a whole. In this essay, I will discuss some of the results of this trend and I will present a variety of steps that governments could take to tackle these issues. The first result of an increased life expectancy is the rise of the demands of healthcare and pension, this means that local councils should save a part of their budget to cover those needs, and this could result in the cancellation of certain vital projects for the sake of older people. Moreover, governments will need extra money in order to take care of the elderly, and one way to do that is to increase the amount of taxes or even impose new ones on younger generations, as a result, an ageing population would definitely mean a greater tax burden on adults, and this will lead to a feeling of resentment amongst this part of society. To address this, there are several potential measures that government could take, First of all, increasing the retirement age from 65 to 70, and also cancelling the mandatory retirement policy, this will give an opportunity to employees who want to continue their productive working life rather than sitting at home, also this could be beneficial for the country, as these individuals will continue to pay their taxes, Secondly, introducing new laws to force young people to take care of their parents and grandparents in their own homes and not in nursing houses, in exchange government will lessen their taxes, and this way the pressure on this kind of institutions will be decreased. To conclude, There are various problems that can be caused by an ageing population, and steps need to be taken in order to address this potential issues.