«Prevention is better than cure». Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest into preventative measures. To what extent do you agree?

Finding cures and health treatments are highly expensive compared to preventative actions that could be taken in order to avoid medical expenses. Firstly, the majority of illnesses that affect most of the population could be prevented by implementing nutrition programs. Diabetes, cardiovascular-related and digestive-related problems such as colon cancer among others are caused by a poor and deficient diet. Namely, The excess of sugar, refined flour, saturated fats and lack of fibre in our daily food lead to most of the conditions above mentioned. Thus, a change in feeding habits can be achieved by educating people which can result in a better life quality. Moreover, an educational plan in order to create awareness regarding the importance of nutrition might be significantly less costly than long-term treatments and hospitalization. Namely, a television campaign, school workshops or subjects dedicated to instructing adults and kids on how to wisely choose and prepare their meals are great alternatives for prevention at a reduced cost. For example, The price of colon cancer therapy for just a few patients can be equivalent to a TV campaign. Therefore, I personally agree with the fact that investing in prevention costs less than healing. To sum up, the expenses incurred by curing most of the common and deadly illnesses could be reduced by educating the population on how to take care of themselves through well-balanced nutrition.