Some people think that we live in a society where money and posessions are given too much importance. Others believe that this is improving our lives. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Money can certainly facilitate and upgrade living conditions, however, material possessions are becoming more and more relevant in many societies. Purchasing luxury goods are more desirable than life quality nowadays. Thus buying power is seen as the key to happiness. To begin with, wealth has always been a synonym for success since antique times. Namely, wars have been carried out among nations just to obtain power through material richness be it gold, territories, diamonds, oil, etc.,to name a few examples. Nowadays we are still living in a consumerist and superficial society where individuals validate themselves according to the number of assets they are able to acquire, for example, high-end cars, overpriced designer clothes and bags are symbols of admiration. I am of the idea that the importance individuals are placing on superficial things has gone too far. Some people are willing to negotiate even health or mental peace in order to be able to afford frivolous objects. On the other hand, better living conditions can be reached through the appropriate use of money. For instance, investing in essential aspects such as education and health significantly benefits the development of the community. However, such aspects are being neglected or considered secondary by the superficial society we live in today. I personally considered that allocating financial resources to the right place such as the factors previously mentioned is favourable not only for the individuals but also for the community. Therefore, funds indeed contribute to better welfare. In conclusion, people are evidently overvaluing objects over well-being. Possessions are considered the fountain of happiness while crucial aspects of life such as health and education are not listed as a priority. Hence, humanity should focus on what really matters.