Many people prefer to communicate with their online friends than to socialize with people in their local communities. Do you think it has more advantages than disadvantages?

In contemporary society, the advent of technology has led to an upsurge in digital media, resulting in more individuals tending to make acquaintances with strangers through social media. Although others think that this propensity has beneficial impacts on inhabitants and society as a whole, I hold the opposite viewpoint. It is undeniable that by using social media networking sites people can make friends with others within a few seconds. Thus, they can share anything surrounding their lives as well as their hobbies. For example, a single Facebook user can join dozens of fascinating groups and interact with tens of thousands of individuals who share similar interests. Moreover, individuals who have to devote a minimum amount of time to conserving with their loved ones may experience a sense of loneliness. Nevertheless, the internet enables them to form and maintain relationships with more people, thereby fostering a sense of belonging to a broader community. Despite the aforementioned benefits, I would argue that when inhabitants devote less time to local community activities, there can be two negative outcomes, one of which is the deterioration of neighbourly relationships. People nowadays tends to engage in online activities, which, in the long run, can make individuals become indifferent to one another, weakening their social bonds. For example, despite the huge number of friends she has made via the internet, my sister still suffers from loneliness and isolation and struggles to interact with peers at university. Secondly, the reduction in health and the prevalence of a sedentary lifestyle are other issues caused by interpersonal communication. In recent years, an increasing number of residents have been glued to social platforms, causing them to lose interest in outdoor activities namely working, cycling, and swimming. This inactive manner of living will gradually impair their mental and physical performance. In conclusion, although I acknowledge that online interactions might have constructive effects, I suppose this tendency might have an adverse bearing on people's social connections and overall well-being.