In a number of countries, some people think its is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Without a question, spending money is a hugely important topic that has sparked a great deal of discussion among many people in many different countries. While some strongly believe that funds should be set aside for the construction of new railroads, others think that the quality of the current public transportation system should be enhanced. Although both sides have solid points, I believe the later group to be more well-founded. First off, proponents of the first scenario strongly argue that this has been given a great deal of importance. Building a new railway, for example, will not only significantly lower the amount of fossil fuel used by lone travelers who frequently drive between cities, but it will also lower the percentage of traffic accidents that are caused by drivers. This occurred in China, where a sharp decline in auto accidents was seen following the introduction of rapid trains with an average speed of 200 km/h. There is also the opposite side, in which a decent group of people declares that the funding should be spent on improving current public transportation. There are several advantages to the aforementioned trend; upgrading current public transportation, such as increasing the number of seats in tubes and lowering the fee, would be a practical strategy to furthering the welfare of the people. This encourages people to use public transportation since it is less expensive and more accessible than other modes of transportation. Additionally, I believe that funding improvements to the current public transportation system should be given first priority.