Teenagers are spending too much time on computers and this will lead to a severe problem in their mental and physical health. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

With the advancement of technology, people, especially young ones tend to spend too much time on computers nowadays. Individuals have argued that this trend will lead to serious problems in the mental and physical well-being of these ones while others disagree with the notion. In my opinion, however, I totally agree that spending lots of time on technological devices will expose teenagers to mental and physical health crises and will explain in detail as the essay progresses. Firstly, optometrists have warned that exposing the eyes to the screen for very long hours takes a toll on human eye health and this is evident in the increase in the number of optical cases in recent years when compared to what it was in the previous years. For instance, as a teacher in a primary with over twelve years of experience, I have observed that the number of children who use optical lenses among children aged three years old to nine years old are very much more compared to what I observed previously. Secondly, the constant use of digital devices creates huge gaps between parents and their children because the bulk of the children's time is spent on computers; while there are lots of things to learn while using the computers, the warmth associated with constant human conversations can not be achieved with them. This is evident in the rate of depression and suicide recorded in our world recently which obviously affects teenagers even more. For instance, many people, in a bid to keep their issues private, choose to seek counsel from online friends without verifying the competence of their supposed counsellors as they are not able to trace them to their roots: this results in situations where the troubled victims deal independently with their challenges because there are already broken ties with people in their environment. In conclusion, I agree to a great extent that the frequent use of computers leads to many health and physical challenges among teenagers as it affects their sleep cycle, their optical health and mental fitness resulting in depression and suicidal thoughts.