Many countries have compulsory military service for young men after they leave school. It would be a good idea for all countries to adopt this system for men, and possibly for women too. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, mandatory military service for men is a common practice in several countries after basic school education. There is an idea of expanding this to every country even for women. In this essay, I will argue against this statement and propose another way of supporting military forces. Despite the need to keep the army forces of every country with trained soldiers, I believe that forcing this on young students hurts their lives. The military environment usually is related to violence and emotional abuse. Indeed, based on a UN report, people who participated in the army are 50% more likely to have suicidal ideation compared with the rest of the population. In addition, those violent memories can be fixed as future traumas that will impact society and have negative effects in their communities. Instead of having the obligation to serve in the armed forces, offering the optional pathway for students who aim to have a future military career can have two positive aspects. Firstly, young students who would like to enroll and join a specific area directly could choose that as a career. For example, in the Air Force of the USA, many students would dream of being a pilot like in the movie Top Gun. Secondly, those job positions have many benefits compared to regular careers. For instance, tax benefits, housing accommodation, and travel support. In this way, students will be specifically motivated to join specific areas of the army understanding the challenges and advantages. In conclusion, having compulsory army training can be seen as a positive project. However, I believe that this can only bring negative consequences and instead, the training should be an optional career path done by each individual who is directly interested.