In some places, money earned from tourism has become an important part of the national economy. What are the advantages and disadvantages of relying on tourism as a major source of national revenue? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays people from all over the world tend to take a holiday in attractive and popular places thus, tourism has become widespread. It is undoubtedly true to say that touristry plays a significant role in the national economy. Regardless, it brings many benefits to the country's development and improves people's well-being, but it may have some demerits if tourism stands as a major source of national income. First of all, there are countless advantages of promoting tourism by drawing people’s attention to attractive and unique places in the country. For instance, it makes the country well-known and enhances the nation‘s recession and the prosperity of the local population. Moreover, if a certain province does not have any natural resources which could assist in internal restraint, it can stabilize the economy through the development of tourism. To illustrate this, half of the countries in Europe, such as Greece and Portugal, rely on this type of income as it is more profitable compared to the other part of the income. However, being dependent on touristry as the main source of domestic revenue can also be a disadvantage. Since there is no definite forecast for how long the tourism industry will last. Hence, it may lead to a decline in the nation’s welfare in the future. Furthermore, it can be seen that some places that are the centre of attraction may lose their popularity after some time. In conclusion, the tourism industry plays a vital role in the domestic economy of a country. Even though it has its drawbacks, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.