Nowadays, there is a trend that reports of media focus on problems and emergencies rather than positive development. Some people think it is harmful to individuals and to society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The question of whether emergencies or positive stories should be featured on the news has been a recent topic of debate. Although I agree with the idea that this trend adversely impacts individuals and society, its advantages should be mentioned. First, we should admit that the news on emergencies can save lives and reduce damage, especially during natural disasters. For instance, the media often updates viewers on breaking news about hurricane assaults or earthquakes, or the media frequently announces an emergency declaration. In this way, the people who are in danger may take corresponding actions to stay safe right away. The best way to alert individuals to prevent and protect themselves is to report on bad situations including drug trafficking, corruption, bribery, sexual harassment, and racism. Additionally, news stories about criminals and their penalties can help inform the public about justice, deter individuals from committing crimes, and ultimately decrease the crime rate. On the other hand, a higher frequency of news stories focusing on negative aspects of society can have detrimental effects on people ’s mental states. For example, news about terrorism and war has become so common in the media that some people may hesitate to travel abroad for fear of a terrorist attack. Secondly, it can also lead people to misunderstand many aspects of society. For example, many tabloids, such as 14 Channel in Vietnam, have always focused on exploiting the scandals of celebrities, which can mislead the public into believing in the flaws of Vietnamese showbiz. However, in reality, it is an industry where many people are contributing many great values to society. In conclusion, there are legitimate reasons for the media to report on all issues, although the accompanying negative impacts need to be considered.