Some people say that international sporting events help world peace. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an argument that some individuals believe sports competitions held around the world are an efficient way to help establish Global peace. I partially agree with such a point of view because this type of event allows knowledge exchange and tolerance, although it can create discord relations between different opinions. On the one hand, watching overseas sports competitions gives a unique and realistic chance to experience another culture, because this opportunity creates an immersive contact with cultural diversities, consequently, it gives the chance to learn how to respect other morals and behaviours. For instance, it has been proven that 6 out of 10 people that visit another country, change their mind in a positive way about how they used to see that culture before visiting it, which enables peace establishment through the tolerance. On the other hand, having a contact with a different culture can create a conflict atmosphere, as some individuals are not able to accept divergent practices and morals, therefore, this type of behaviour creates an intolerable environment caused by the individuals’ non-acceptance. For example, it is known that one quarter of the Brazilian citizens who are exposed to other cultures and actions, relatecertain levels of rejection to another point of view, which leads to a high level of discrimination and less chance to set up World peace. To conclude, I do believe that watching competitions abroad gives us a unique chance to meet other places promoting people’s respect, despite there are some individuals who are not open enough to accept these cultural differences. However, the government should establish policies toward tolerance and respect to make Global peace possible.