More and more people no longer read newspaper or watch TV programs to get news . They get news about the world through the internet. Is this a positive or negative development ?

In recent years, technology developed very fast, people prefer to acquire news online than read newspapers or watch TV, this problem has become a major issue in our society. It is argued that surfing online is harmful to people, even though its advantages are obvious. I agree the limits exceed the benefits.I will give both sides' reasons in the following sentences. First of all, the decline in the audience to read newspapers is positive for the environment. In other words, we can reduce the utilisation of paper. For example, in the past years, we had to provide newspapers and magazines about deforestation,which is detrimental to our ecosystem.Another facet, we can acquire various knowledge through different applications online on mobile phones regardless of location, which is more convenient than before. In addition, it is a way to save money when we read online instead of buying a newspaper or magazine. Thus, the strengths of getting news online should be seen as contributions to a healthy society. On the contrary,we should not ignore the drawbacks of using the internet,especially teenagers. For instance,children spend hours on the smartphone playing games,leading to physical and psychological problems.Another aspect,there is massive information on the internet that you can’t distinguish which is true or false, therefore it is easier to be deceived. Furthermore,the security of the internet triggers a high concern,since there is no privacy on the internet.To elaborate, you need to provide your personal information to register on a website, which might be monitored or detect your trace online for commercial purposes. In conclusion, although there is vast potential for surfing online, I completely believe that it is a negative development if people over-rely on it.I assert we should find a balance between its weakness and benefits.