Some people believe that it is best to accept a bad situation, such as an unsatisfactory job or shortage of money. Others argue that it is better to try and improve such situations. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is true that every one of us can face some types of bad situations in our lives, including financial crises, relationships and trauma, etc. Some people prefer to accept and persuade themselves to make compromises, while others would like to change negative situations into more positive ones. In my opinion, understanding the current situation and accepting it should be regarded as a foundation so that we can make some further improvements to get into a more pleasant situation. On the one hand, accepting a bad situation is a must. One should recognise and acknowledge the existence of this unsatisfactory status quo rather than delude oneself and live under illusions and facades. After that, we can review our situation in a relatively objective way through introspection, self-reflection and talking to people near and dear to us. Gradually, the cause of the unpleasant situation may appear on the horizon, and only by doing this, we can come to the next stage and step into a better life. Besides, even situations that are defined as the worst can provide us with invaluable experiences. On the other hand, I do agree that one should not lose hope of improving the current situation. Before Antonovsky came up with the concept called the sense of coherence, he asked himself, "Why is it that some of us can overcome obstacles and stay healthy, while others feel desperate, when we are all meeting the same difficulties?" A key element of his answer was about being hopeful. We should believe that we can use our abilities and the resources around us to cope with the various events that occur in our lives. When we understand this logic and keep looking for a way out, the situation can be improved. In conclusion, bad situations are inevitable, even if we reject them. What we can do is accept the facts, learn from them and never give up searching for refinements.