Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Environmental problems have attracted constantly more attention nowadays. The extinction of certain species of fauna and flora is regarded by some people as the biggest problem, while others hold the view that it is less vital than some other environmental issues. In my opinion, the severity of losing those particular species is beyond dispute. However, the importance of other environmental problems should not be trivialised as well, and we should even more focus on them. There is no doubt that more and more plants and animals are jeopardised and it is definitely one of the biggest problems that we as human beings are faced with. It would be a great pity for our descendants if they could only learn about these species through books and videos. Besides, when people keep neglecting the situation and allow it to become worse, our planet will gradually lose its diversity, which could be irreversible. The side effects can also cause further extinctions and other environmental problems. For example, when we lose a certain type of plant forever, the animals depending on it to survive could no longer thrive as well. I do agree with the argument that there are other environmental problems which are more warranted to be solved, as they could be the reason why the number of endangered species keeps rising today. All lives on earth are deeply connected with one another, therefore, when the air, water and soil are contaminated, this could have a profound impact on all species. When we solve or at least alleviate the problem of global warming, which is caused by the greenhouse effect, we can also save the polar bears living on the melting icebergs. If we stop overcutting trees and start coping with the phenomenon of deforestation, animals can also live in a better habitat. In conclusion, the problem of losing diversity in animals and plants does need to be dealt with, while I do believe when we take action to solve other original environmental problems, this problem will no more exist automatically.Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.