More and more people no longer read newspapers or watch TV programs to get news. They get news about the world through the Internet. Is this a positive or negative development?

Due to the rapid development of technology, getting news through newspapers or TV shows seems to be rendered obsolete. Instead, people tend to keep updated about the world with the utilization of the internet. From my perspective, this trend poses a positive impact on human life. This essay will present my rationale for this belief. One of the reasons why reading news on online media is preferable is its convenience. To be more specific, online newspapers are more accessible than most other channels. With only a smartphone, people can attain any information they want to explore anytime and anywhere. For example, people can surf some informative posts on social networks like Facebook or Twitter when they are even on buses. Whereas, watching TV is an in-house activity, which makes some people hesitant about turning on the TV to update the latest news. Furthermore, the Internet offers an endless source of information at an affordable expense, even without any cost. This is because most of the press media companies also serve their target audiences with online platforms so that more people can reach out to their posts. Normally, they will not charge readers any fee to attract reading traffics as much as possible. To make an example of this point, some well-known websites in Vietnam such as vnexpress.vn and the like are all free. Consequently, more people prefer finding news on these platforms in lieu of buying newpapers. In conclusion, as with the debate about the Internet, it's how people use it that is important. I hold the belief it has a profound impact on how people get news, therefore, it is a positive development.