Few people devote time to hobbies nowadays. Say why you think this is the case and what effect this has on the individual and society in general.

People nowadays spent less time on leisure activities or to cultivate personal interests, one of the cogent reasons is due to high competitive and fast changing societies. The phenomena as such not only provoking negative affects on individuals, but also deriving drawbacks to societies in long term. To begin with, it is hard for people to find balance between work and life since modern technologies are constantly being introduced into workplaces to enhance productivity. To remain competitive people need to spent more time on study, and the acquisition of new skills with full- time jobs could be time consuming, which left no time for people to develop their personal interests. However, the lack of leisure activities could lead to various negative effects to both individuals and societies. First of all, spending long hours on working or studying could stimulate negative influence on people, mentally and physically. While the working hours in commercial institutions is getting longer over time, individuals barely have time to have personal time, which could increase the anxiety and affect their sleeping qualities, leading to various diseases, including obesity and depression. On the other hand, entertainment industries, including movie theaters and restaurants, could endure a decrease of revenue due to a large population who work too hard to be able to enjoy life. Which not only will restrict the development of local economy, but reduce the work opportunities. To conclude, a high competitive societies is the main cause of a drastic drop of time people spent on leisure activities, which could derive various negative effects to individuals and societies, be it the increase of correlative diseases, and the shrinking of local economic.