Some experts suggest people a method to solve the environmental problem is to increase the cost of fuels and all vehicles. To what extent do you agree with this point? and make comparisons where relevant. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, it is argued that the increasing expenditure on fuels and private cars might be an antidote for environmental problems. While I up to a point agree with this idea, I do believe this can cause more bad impact on our society. On the one hand, it is obvious that if the cost of fuel and all vehicles is increased, there would be fewer people who have the intention to buy the cars. As a result, public transportation gradually become a good choice for most people, which is cheaper and environmentally friendly, Therefore, both reduction of emissions and better air quality are the predictable consequences that the majority of people prefer to see. On the other hand, this suggestion can really lead to inconvenience for a lot of citizens. Although many big cities are equipped with modern public amenities like well-established transportation systems, there do exist some certain places where it is hard to reach anywhere just through the bus or subway. Due to this, sometimes vehicles play a pretty important role in our daily life. For example, if you have to go to the hospital when something emergent happens at night when public transportation has stopped, a private car can help you a lot. Additionally, in my opinion, the growing cost of the vehicle also gives a rise to complaints from people who have had difficulties in their life. In conclusion, even if this proposal has some advantages to some degree, the environmental problem can not simply root out by this. So I think we should place more importance on people's attitudes and awareness towards this issue.