Some people think that planning for future is a waste of time. They believe it is more important to focus on the present. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One of the most controversial topics today relates to whether ones should make future plans or enjoy the present moment. While future orientation is vital to people’s achievements, I hold a belief that living for today plays an equally pivotal role in their happiness and success. On the one hand, it is often argued that having foresight is crucial to people’s development and success. With prospective plans, folks are able to anticipate potential risks and opportunities and foresee possible obstacles. For example, many companies are always well-prepared for upcoming trends by making monthly or yearly schedules so that they can predict customers' tastes or market changes to maximize profits or limit budget deficit to a minimum rate. Therefore, so as to avoid failures or disorientation, many tend to sketch planned schemes for a better sense of adaptability. On the other hand, I am convinced that spontaneity could bring positive implications for our mental well-being and life fulfilment to some extent. No one could deny that if someone always worries about what is coming next, he is likely to face constant depression and lose sight of the simpler joys in his life. As a result, those who are prone to plan too carefully are unlikely to achieve a sense of satisfaction and have their mental well-being affected in the long run. What’s more, living for the moment is likely to be an effective method for everyone to handle daily problems with a positive attitude, which can prevent them from overthinking and comparing themselves with others. Such a practice can allow them to find a peaceful mind and treasure present moments, which are vital to their happiness. In conclusion, although devising future intentions is essential to achieve goals, I believe that making ultimate plans and cherishing the current minutes is of paramount importance to gain a sense of fulfilment and accomplishment in the long term.