Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? “Overall, the widespread use of the internet has a mostly positive effect on life in today’s world.” Use reasons and details to support your opinion.

Most everyone agrees that modern technology has dramatically affected society in numerous ways. In my view, using the Internet has become a necessity as it has a number of benefits on a daily basis. There are several reasons why I feel this way, which I will explore in the following essay. To begin with, the Internet helped normalize our society and life, which was destroyed because of COVID-19. The government required the public to stay at home and be quarantined from work and other activities in order to be able to prevent the spread of COVID-19. Many people lost their jobs and became depressed because of the lockdown. The Internet and smartphone (based on the Internet) helped minimize these problems. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. During the 4 month quarantine period, I was still able to work from home by advising patients, who were having dental problems, through communication channels such as Facebook, zalo, and Viber. Particularly, I also participated in a group including many doctors of different majors supporting the government in the fight against COVID-19. We took care of the patients having some light symptoms by guiding them on how to take medicine, and how to take care of themselves for better resistance. These issues were solved through Zalo, a popular medium in my country. If the Internet were developed this much, it would be impossible to work from home. On the other hand, the broad use of the Internet makes it possible for everyone to keep in touch with each other. Nowadays, society has many platforms where they are connecting with their families and friends. In the past, when someone’s relative had to emigrate, most of them wrote letters or internationally called, which was very expensive. The letters took a long time to reach their destination. Now it is easier for people, they can call, and message from any place to their countries, families and friends. For instance, my husband and his family emigrated to America about 4 years ago and I still live in Vietnam at present. Because the time zones of the two countries are different, I use the Internet all the time in order to be able to talk to him whenever I or he is free. We can chat, call via video and see each other through a small screen and this makes the geographical distance between two countries no longer a big problem for us. It’s important to me to talk with him every day and feel close to me. In conclusion, the Internet is an essential technology in life, which promotes a better way of living. The Internet is massively important as it leads to easier communication and helps us to live conveniently.