People’s shopping habits depend more on the age group that they belong to than other factors. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In current times, shopping has more functions than it used to have earlier. Though its main motive is to buy essential goods for your living, many people shop to reduce stress, as a hobby or as a status symbol. So, the stimulus behind shopping may depend on many factors like socio-economic status, age, gender, need and advertisements. In spite of age being one of the determinants, I disagree with the fact that it is more important than the other factors. The most important factor that influences a person to go shopping is the needs or wants of the individual or people related to him/her. For example, everyone goes to the mall to buy basic necessities like food, clothes, health supplies and others. Irrespective of the age is 16 or 60, the person will have to go to the shop or buy it online. They will shop less if they have fewer mouths to feed and shop more if the number of dependents is more. Secondly, a person cannot purchase anything unless he/she has the monetary means to do so. This means that if one has more money, one will spend equally on luxury items and fundamental needs. On the other hand, a person with less financial stability will focus more on vital merchandise. Advertisements are the third important factor that appeals to our senses more than our actual needs, and we are compelled to buy the thing/s. On television or social media, the advertisements make us feel that we need their product, and as we go to the shop, the convincing power of the shopkeeper makes us shop more. Finally, it can be said that a girl or woman shops more than a man. Although it is more of a social conception than a scientific fact, it is widely accepted by both genders that one buys more than the other. However, age may affect the shopping pattern of a person to a certain extent. For example, the things that a 15-year-old girl/boy buys are different from a 35-year-old woman/man or a 55-year-old woman/man. These differences may vary because, in most cases, people continue to buy the same things to maintain the standard and comfort the product provides. Similarly, the number of goods bought may change as age increases, but it mostly depends on the needs of the person. In conclusion, it can be stated that classifying buyers according to their shopping habits is an effective method. But, I would reinforce the fact that even if age determines a certain aspect of shopping, it does not affect or can compete with other factors like money, demand, gender and advertisements.