Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There exists a debate on whether or not the government should spend money on railways instead of roads. While some argue that it is better to spend money on railways. I disagree with this statement. I personally agree that capital should be encouraged to spend on both building the railways and roads. On the one hand, the train allows the different communities to build closer and more active communication across the cities. This is because the fund spent on maintaining and updating the rail line would be helpful for communicating with people who live in other places. For example, visitors who live in city A need to spend 4 hours driving to city B, while taking the train, only costs 1.5 hours or less in general. Therefore, enhancing the train system might attract tourists to other places, contributing to increasing communication with different cities. For another, the benefit of updating the train lines should not be ignored. Railway systems are well-organised to reduce our time spent on the way. If the inhabitants could have a more convenient transport method with advanced technology, dwellers would find it more efficient to go somewhere far. For instance, it is beneficial for visitors or workers on a business trip to take the high-rate rains to other places that are far away from the departures, compared to driving which is under a lower efficiency. Thus, this system plays an essential role in our business or travel. In conclusion, I reaffirm my position that money should be utilized both in railways and roads, it not only eases the local transportation pressure, but also improve the efficiency of different societies.