It seems clear that obesity in today’s society is to some extent due to the availability of fast food. Should the government place a tax on fast food to reduce the amount of fast food consumed?

Nowadays, it is evident that the presence of fast food is responsible for obesity to some extent due to its low prices. To tackle this problem, it has been suggested that governments ought to implement a high tax on fast foods to minimise the consumption of convenience meals. I personally believe obesity occurs because of the low prices of fast food and the government plays a crucial role by increasing the tax and prohibiting the advertisement of fast food will discourage young people,especially those who have less money from buying food at quick service restaurants. The main reason for the high consumption of junk food is it gives a cheap alternative to healthy meals. A salad for example often is twice as expensive as a burger, resulting in more individuals eating the burger than the salad. Thus, more people will prepare fewer meals themselves and eat more mass-produced food instead. In my opinion, it should not be possible to sell fast food at a lower price than staple food. Therefore, by making takeaway meals more expensive with the tax imposed by the government than vegetables and fruit, society would change their eating habits, as they would want to save money. A way to reduce the fast food consumed would be to prohibit its promotion. Commercials of fast food often target young children by offering inducements, such as toys in the happy meal at McDonald's for example. Then, children are persuaded to demand a happy meal, not necessarily to eat but to obtain the toy. Thus, this junk food was consumed by either their parent or their children themselves. If advertising were forbidden, the number of per consuming fast meals would be reduced and therefore the number of obese would decrease as well. In conclusion, governments should put a tax on fast food and make it more expensive than healthy raw foods, so society would begin to eat more healthily. If advertising were banned, the number of obese people would decrease even more drastically.