Some people think that zoos are cruel and all the zoos should be closed. However,other people think that zoos are useful to protect the rare animals. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

there is a current debate surrounding whether zoos should be closed because of the cruelty or encouraged to protect endangered animals. personally, I hold the belief that the motive of zoos needs to be taken into consideration, despite its certain potential benefits. on the one hand, it is understandable for people to support the opening of zoos due to their standard protection. it is true that hunting for commercial purposes has made the natural habitat become unsafe for animals to inhabit, so wildlife parks are the most ideal places for them. In zoos, animals are protected from their predators and harsh environment, which can help them to avoid extinction as well as ensure their well-being. furthermore, captive animals can be used to serve in scientific research. their behaviour and genes are likely to be studied by scientists in order to benefit other important industries, especially the pharmaceutical field. on the other hand, I strongly believe that the negative impacts of zoos need to be taken into account. it is worth mentioning that most zoos keep animals in captivity with a view to satisfying people's recreational demands and making a huge profit. even many visitors treat animals in an ill-mannered way, which can lead to serious injury to animals. As a result, after long-term captivity, animals will lose their unique instinct and even die. for instance, in 2018, in ninh binh wildlife park, an old panda died because of the inability to adapt to this artificial environment. in conclusion, in spite of the particular advantages of zoos in terms of security, I am still of the opinion that their problems need to be taken into consideration painstakingly. it is predicted that animals will have a chance to come back to their original habitat thanks to the development of technology.