There seems to be an increasing number of serious crimes committed each year. While some think the best way is to use the death penalty as a deterrent, ,many believe that other meausres will be needed. Discuss both sides.

The number of criminals and law offenders increases year by year. Many would argue that death penalty would deter them to repeat crimes, while others think that these measures is cruel and must opt to alternative ways. In this essay, I will explore and discuss both views and give my opinion. On one hand, I would argue that having death penalty as a form of punishment is the best choice to discourage criminals and would-be-criminals to commit and repeat crimes. Although, this method is brutal and inhumane, as I believe it is the most effective way to show to them that the government is serious in giving punishment. In Davao for example, even though death penalty is not legalized in the Philippines but Mayor Duterte has strongly impose a strong governance in his city against criminals espicially drug dealers, by being vocal of killing them if they will be known, hence, Davao city has been labelled as the only place in the country with law crime rate and safe for tourist. On the other hand, some would argue that there are ways to combat criminality, through education and work. As the data shows more crimes committed are related to poverty and poor education. In my city alone, for instance, the poverty rate is outstanding and significant number of childrens children's are deprived with good education, resulting to drug-related crimes, robbery, and thef, that often leads to murder. It is therefore crucial for the government to alleviate the issue by creating policies focusing on education and work, to create a safe community. In conclusion, I would argue that around the world crime rate is disturbingly increasing, and death penalty would be the best method to combat the issue. However, the government play important role to address this issue to deter people to repeat and commit crimes by creating policies focusing on education and work.