It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinctions. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

Human personality and characteristic traits develop as early as childhood. At this stage, it is important for parents to instruct their children on what is the right way to do things and what is wrong. Generally, there are variable views regarding whether youngsters should be punished to differentiate between good and bad actions or not. Although I am strictly against children being severely punished, I believe that some sort of punishment is still needed to encourage good behaviour during their young ages. During early ages, when children have a very raw conception of the world, it is important for parents and teachers to give proper instructions to shape a child's worldview. This stage of childhood is sort of a sandbox, when offspring experiments with various behaviours, demonstrating both good and bad traits. When not punished, offspring will persist in bad behaviour, which will continue until adulthood, at which point all bad characteristics are hard bound to a person's nature. Thus, it is important to consistently monitor a child's behaviour and assign some kind of punishment when necessary. However, punishments should never reach a physical level. Physical abuse in a form of hitting will cause serious interruptions in children's development and may result in psychological problems. Punishments should only take a mild form, serving solely the purpose of instructing and directing offspring to the right way. For example, a child who does not do his/her homework could be restricted TV access for a couple of days. This type of punishment will not cause any interruption in the development of children and will, in fact, have a positive impact. In conclusion, opinions are divided on whether offspring should be punished to grasp the right and wrong ways of doing things. On this occasion, I hold a balanced view, and I believe that punishments are essential in the early development of a person, but they should never reach a physical level.