Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Most people believe that the main problem of our environmental issues is the loss of some species of plants and animals. While this might be true, there are some issues which are more important for the environment. There are valid arguments on both sides which I will discuss below. Firstly, the loss of species of plants and animals could cause unbalanced conditions in nature. There are a lot of plants and animals which are dependent on other species and if one of these species were extinct, then it would affect the others. This phenomenon would also interrupt the food chain in the ecosystem and cause a greater loss of species. Moreover, the loss of plants and animals would affect the diversity of flora and fauna which could no longer be seen in nature. On the other hand, another environmental problem that we have is the degrading condition of our earth. Air pollution, contaminated water, and soil erosion are some serious problems that have arisen these days. These problems are caused by the lack of responsibility of people toward the environment. Furthermore, global warming also has alarmed everyone which this condition could cause the rising of sea water level and flooding in seashore. Consequently, many parts of land would be flooded by the sea and lots of lives must move to safer places. To conclude, I think both environmental problems have caused serious effects to the earth and people have felt the impacts of those conditions. To prevent greater losses and damages, people should work together and start to act immediately toward these issues.