As languages such as English, Spanish and Mandarin become more widely spoken, there is a fear that many minority languages may die out. Some countries have taken steps to protect minority languages. What is your view of this practice? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

Some languages are widely spoken, while others are not so popular or at the brink of extinction. Many governments and communities take actions to save the latter and widespread their use. I agree with the idea of protecting minority languages, and in this essay I will explain my opinion with examples. Firstly, there are people who speak rare languages, and it is their native. According to the human rights declaration those crowds must have an opportunity to learn and speak freely their language and government authorities must provide all necessary information in this language as well as in state languages. Another reason I believe that outnumbered languages are as valuable as more widely spoken is that they provide an opportunity to understand different cultures and traditions. In the modern world where inclusivity is valued, and diversity is celebrated it is quite essential. For example, Quebec province in Canada gives preference to francophone immigrants to support the French heritage of the region. On the other hand, some think that it is not worth learning disappearing languages. The point is that it takes too much time and effort while cannot benefit in any way as it is not in high demand and used only in small areas, hence, it is much better to learn common things. For instance, many parents in Belarus are against the idea of learning mother tongue by their kids. They think that it is almost not used, so, it is better to learn English or German. In conclusion, some people believe that little-used languages are irrelevant,but I believe that it is vital to protect them and support their use. I believe all languages are precious.