It’s more important for school children to learn about their local history than world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is suggested that school children should learn more about their local history instead of world history. I tend not to agree with this view. Admittedly, learning endemic history can be beneficial in some respects. For one, it can develop a sense of gratefulness. This is mainly because as they know more about their ancestors and difficulties that they faced in the past, young generation may realize the real value of good living conditions and peace. As a result of this, they may change their attitude towards everything that they have and may start appreciating them. For example, if someone have enough data about their ancestors who lived during the Great Depression and had to work hard to provide their family, one may be more empathetic, happy and enthusiastic. On the other hand, having massive knowledge about world history can bring about some special benefits. First of all, it can broaden one’s horizon, as world history is filled with mysteries, puzzles and intriguing points. Hence, learning it gives challenges to one’s mind, leading to think in a wider way. Take the Second World War as an example, details of this war is quite difficult to understand and learning it clearly requires a different way of thinking. In this way, people can boost their personal outlook during the learning process. Another aspect is that acquiring knowledge about history of the world can offer a chance to avoid past mistakes as many as possible. For example, most issues which we are facing today, already experienced by ancient people. Thus, knowing about these difficulties and what actions the ancient governments took to solve can let us to escape such problems and take effective steps when we confront with these issues. In conclusion, gathering information about one’s local area can be practical in some respects, yet I believe, the advantages that come from learning world history are worth to consider and this topic is more important than learning local history