with the rise of e-books comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good step forward while others do not. what are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend ?

It is true that with the recent breakthroughs in science, we have got a replacement for paper books, and public opinion is divided on this matter. This essay will discuss the perceived benefits and drawbacks of this trend. There are a lot of advantages to this trend, one of them is that e-books are easily stored all you need is a flash drive, whereas traditional books require a lot of space; however, this trend allows us to use that space in other important stuff, like for example, in the UK some libraries have turned all their papers into electronic ones and gave the spot to local councils. Moreover, with e-books you can create a lot of copies so you can download them easily from the internet; therefore, a vast majority of people will have the access to a variety of books, in contrast as it was before, for instance, in Amazon you can practically find anything and you can buy it and they will ship it to you. Despite the obvious appeal, there are a number of potential disadvantages, with the rapid spread of e-books the risk of plagiarism is higher than ever, as a result, authors claim that their work is no longer safe in such an environment and it has been proven that cyber crime now is one of the most challenging problems that governments face. furthermore, there is a possibility that the flash drive gets stolen and if this happens, we will lose various important sources. For instance, a survey done in my city showed that over 90 per cent of individuals have already lost at least one item in their lives, so this is a potential problem too. To conclude, there are pros and cons to this trend; however, I believe that it is totally normal for both things to coexist.